Thinking Out Loud about Greek Classics

I’m reading through some of the Greek classics, and I would like to put my thoughts out here, so that perhaps some of you might join me in a discussion à la St. John’s College.

The reading list is the following:

  • Homer, The Iliad
  • Homer, The Odyssey
  • Aeschylus, Oresteia
  • Sophocles, Philoctetes
  • Sophocles, Antigone
  • Sophocles, Oedipus the King
  • Sophocles, Oedipus at Colonus
  • Virgil, The Aeneid

I’m already reading the last part of The Odyssey, so I have come to a preliminary answer to some of the questions I pose in these. Since you may have not thought about some of these things, I leave my “old” questions for your insights.

I have discovered that the Robert Fagels translations are very good to give one a feel for an overall picture and poetic feel of the work, so numbers refer to page numbers of his translations.

So now, on to The Iliad!

Leave a Reply

