Seeing Through Many Eyes

“My own eyes are not enough for me, I will see through those of others. Reality, even seen through the eyes of many, is not enough. I will see what others have invented. Even the eyes of all humanity are not enough. I regret that the brutes cannot write books…But in reading great literature I become a thousand men and yet remain myself. Like the night sky in the Greek poem, I see with a myriad of eyes, but it is still I who see. Here, as in worship, in love, in moral action, and in knowing, I transcend myself; and am never more myself than when I do.” [C. S. Lewis, An Experiment in Criticism]

1 Comment

  1. February 28, 2008 at 7:23 am

    I think this is what Weaver is after when he talks about Fragmentation. In order to have knowledge, one must know other people, and thereby know what they know. The thing known is outside of and common to both. If that is true, then post-modernism can’t exist.

    After you read _Experiment_, I recommend _History in English Words_ by Barfield.

    ~MR


Leave a Reply

